KEVIN SEARCY – Blood Drives,Trespassing & Bigfoots —Oh My !

KEVIN SEARCYsearcy
Check-Inn Motel/ Blood Drive short film /BigFoot’s Wild Weekend/A Dove Among Pigeons/Trespass Into Terror

1) Who has the Better Beard & Straw Hat, Jeff Murray or Chris Mackey ?

Well, both guys do have the same sense in style, but I’d have to say Chris Mackey’s got a better beard, but Jeff Murray wears the straw hat better.

2) Difference between a Director Of Photography role and Director role ?

Well both the Director of Photography (DP) and Director are responsible for what you see on screen and how it’s presented. They have to work hand in hand, to fulfill the quality and control of the film.

In further detail the DP is responsible for the visual aspects of the film. He or she is in charge of how the film will be framed, whether it’s a tight shot, medium shot or wide shot. Also what types of lenses are used to achieve that shot, for example a 35mm lens vs. a 50mm lens vs. a 200mm lens. As well as what equipment is used for the shot; Tripod, dolly, slider, steadycam, crane, etc. And using the correct amount and style of lighting for the mood of the shot or scene. The DP is basically the Directors right hand man. Both the DP and Director go over a shot list that outlines each shot within a scene, and how the overall film should feel. The DP is also in charge of the film crew, from Camera Operator to Gaffer, to Grip to Sound and lighting Techs. All while making sure that the Directors visions of the film makes it on screen.

The Director on the other hand, is the main person in charge of all aspects of the film. Whatever he or she says goes. The Director is in charge of the DP, and if the Director wants to change a shot. he or she has the authority to do so. The Director basically has to give the okay to wardrobe, hair, makeup, locations, props, artwork, sound, music, CGI, SFX, editing, the list goes on and on. All in all the Director has to have his hands in everything that’s involved with making the film, from pre-production to production to post-production as well as marketing the film and obtaining proper distribution. The Director also works hand in hand with the producers of the film. Even though there are many times where the Producers, Director and DP don’t see eye to eye on certain aspects, it’s important for all of them to eventually be on the same page of how the film will be made. And don’t forget, while controlling all of these aspects, one of the Directors main jobs is to direct the actors on screen. The DP is in charge of framing the actors, while the Director is in charge of directing the actors within that frame.

3) BEST of The ‘SEAR’ On/Off The set ?

That’s the first time I’ve heard “The Sear.” Normally people get it confused with Seriously, or Searchy, I’ve even had “Seriously Searcy” but not “The Sear.” Well going on with the question:

Best on set: I like to look at everything in a very logistical way. I like logistics, and sometimes on the set things can get confusing on what’s needed. So I try my best to look at the logical answer on how it should be done.

Best off set: Spending time with family, friends and my girlfriend is crucial to my success as a filmmaker. It’s very easy to get busy in this industry, so when things get rough, it’s important to have people close to you that you can turn to, and that will support you.

4) WORST of The ‘SEAR’ On/Off set ?

Worst on set: Sometimes I can take too long to think about a shot. When I make a shot list, I try to stick by it the best I can, but sometimes when you’re on set, things change. So it can become hard to pick the correct way to adapt those changes into the shot. Sometimes there’s a handful of ways it can be done, and it’s difficult to weigh out all the options and pick the correct one.

Worst off set: I can end up taking on too large of a work load, and not just with one film, but with multiple films, multiple editing projects and personal things I want to do. I’m learning it’s important not to do that, because it can end up slowing you down when you have so much to do, and it’s all important.

5)One Sentence Descriptions

Shotzi Blackheart

Shotzi is a diamond in the rough. She is very talented, not afraid to take chances, and will be a rising star.

DT Carney

DT is one of those guys that everyone should have in their cast, especially if you need a tough guy. He is very adamant about getting his character right, and will stop at nothing to be the best he can on set.

David Novak

I had the great opportunity to work with David on Bigfoot’s Wild Weekend. He’s a very talented guy, very easy to work with, and walks on set in character and ready to roll.

Brandon Payan

Like DT, Brandon is one of those guys that everyone should have in their crew. Awesome guy to work with, very knowledgeable, and will stop at nothing to become a successful filmmaker.

David Stay

Having only worked with David Stay once, that’s all I needed to know, that this guy will truly bring his character to life. He’s a man of many characters and is very passionate about what he does.

Jeslen Mishelle

Sweet Jeslen, Well what cant I say about her. She’s a woman of many talents, very outgoing, very easy to work with, free spirited and will do anything she can to help the film.

Willy Ortlieb

You couldn’t find a man more passionate and hard working about what he does. This guy will go the extra mile and then some. He’s easy to work with, and will make sure the job gets done.

.
6) BLOOD DRIVE , This film could be your end goal, Details ?

I wouldn’t say that Blood Drive is my end goal. But I would say that it will be the most challenging and logistical film that I’ve been involved with so far. Even some of my own films that I haven’t done yet, will not be this challenging. However I am very eager to take on this film. I think a film like this is long overdue for “Valleywood” and if we can do it right, it will defiantly turn heads. The film is packed full of action, which is never easy to do, packed full of SFX makeup, which isn’t cheap to do, and packed full of street racing cars, which isn’t easy or cheap to do. And not to mention most of that will be done at night, which brings the difficulty level up by 10. However the Producers, DP and I, have spend well enough time thinking about all the aspects of film, and we are well ready to make this happen. Right now we are in the funding phase of the film, which we have an Indiegogo group fundraising campaign going on, and we are currently looking for Private investors and producers to help make this film happen. As of right now, we haven’t truly casted anyone for the film, but we have contacted a few that we would like to see in the film, with lots of local talent and few familiar names that we would like to bring on board. In closing, this will be one kick ass film, and we will spend every ounce of energy we can do make it happen.

7) Editing films is part of your arsenal of skills, Wanna talk about saving two of our films – A DOVE AMONG PIGEONS ? BOOT HILL BLIND DEAD ?

With A Dove Among Pigeons, I spent a little time on set helping to shoot the short film. Later on I was asked if I could edit the film. However once I loaded the footage on the computer, I found that there was no audio collected for 75% of the film. So we talked about a few different ways of saving the film, in which case our choice was to do what’s called; ADR, which is where you rerecord and sync in the actors dialogue over the video that’s already been shot. It was fun to do, but was very challenging, due to the massive amount of ADR that was needed. Going back into editing and trying to sync the speaking dialogue with the visual dialogue, was to say the least very difficult. But with a lot of time and work, I was able to match it pretty well, considering the situation. I found out that ADR is good to do when you have few lines of dialogue to fix, but not 75% of a short film.

And with Boot Hill Blind Dead, this was a short film that was filmed about 10 years ago, which I didn’t have a hand in making then. But I was just recently asked to remaster the film so it can be brought up to date, and redistributed. There really wasn’t much to it, I just loaded the file, added some color and contrast, fixed a few audio and visual glitches, and then redelivered the film.

8) Can everything BE FIXED in ‘The Editing Suite’ ?

To this I would answer yes and no. It depends on many factors; what are you trying to fix, is it feasible for you to obtain the software to fix it, or should it, and can it be something that should just be re-shot. A lot times on set you hear the words “we’ll fix it in post.” Well that’s not always the best answer, something’s just can’t be fixed in post, and/or puts a strain on the editor. The right thing to do when your filming something, is to just take an extra minute and think about the shot before you film it, or move on to the next shot. It can get hectic on set sometimes, and things can easily get overlooked. I can be just as bad at it as the next guy on this, but that why it’s important to listen to what others have to say on set, also make sure you have a big monitor to see the shot, and an extra set of headphones to hear the audio. And speaking of audio, that’s something to be aware of too, make sure that all your audio sounds clean and clear, without any background noise. Since that will be nearly impossible to fix in post. Even big budget Hollywood films are guilty of mistakes, so before you think about just fixing something in post, it might be best just to take some extra time on set, fix the problem, and then reshoot before moving on. However, yes, there are a lot of things that can fixed in post, with the right software, and proper know how.

9) You wrote the Indie Go Go script off of Dan Johnson’s characters for BLOOD DRIVE, Will you write more ?

YES I most defiantly will. Writing is something that I’ve always done. In fact it’s the reason I became a filmmaker. I was always writing down ideas, but didn’t really know what to do with them, but now I do. I’m what you would call an “ideas guy” I got file full of film ideas in all genres, a lot of them I think are very good, and will cost quite a few extra bucks to make. But most of them are either still in the conceptual stage, or have general outlines for the plot of the film. When it comes to writing a full 90 plus page script, that’s where I have trouble. I’ve learned that there are a lot of mechanics that have to go into storytelling, the characters have to have certain connections with one another, either directly or indirectly, sometimes you need character backgrounds, and reasons why characters act or do certain things the way they do. These are all things that you might not necessarily know when you’re watching the film, but are the true back story reasons why the story is the way it is. However, I am taking it upon myself to learn writing, I actually can’t wait to completely write my own film. But in the meantime, I have a writer that I turn to, to either help me with the story, or I’ll give him the complete outline and have him write it for me.

10) Leave that ultimate answers for your fans ?

I have fans? Yaaaayy!! This is just the tip of the iceberg. I as well as members of our team have some great film ideas, and I just came up with a super secret plan on how we all can grow and become successful filmmakers. This is what I love to do, I will never stop, in fact I don’t know how to stop. I fell that I am very well connected with the right people, and I as well as of many members of our immediate film team will be getting a call from me very soon, on a secret mission to make films. It’s only just begun for me, and I’m looking forward to a very bright and successful future. I do want to take a moment and thank everyone that has been with me throughout this filmmaking journey. I feel very fortunate to have met and worked with the people that I have. I can list the names, but that would go on forever, you know who you are. There is no doubt in my mind that we will all be successful. And thank you to my family, friends and girlfriend for believing in me and supporting me.

 

2 thoughts on “KEVIN SEARCY – Blood Drives,Trespassing & Bigfoots —Oh My !

Leave a Reply

