MELANIE ROBEL – Not who you thought she was…

mel11) What can you tell us of your latest,’Hell’s Kitty’ ?


“Hell’s Kitty” is a comedy horror web series based on true-life events about Nick, a Hollywood writer, whose love life is jeopardized by his hellacious cat named Angel. People believe Angel is a devil. Even Nick’s best friend and neighbor, Adam, (movie extra and slacker) is convinced that Angel needs to be exorcised. But Nick adores his cat, and defends her despite all the obvious ominous warnings.

There are other problems besides Nick’s possessed pussy. Nick never gets any sleep because the downstairs neighbor, a nameless recluse and horror movie make up artist, stays up all night making strange noises, and leaving traces of blood in the hallway. Worse, Angel scratches his neighbor, Lisa, a girl Nick once dated, and Lisa is threatening to sue. But as strange supernatural events take place, and people start disappearing, Nick must do something to prevent further catastrophes before his life becomes a living hell.

Its directed and written by Nicholas Tana
Here is the facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/HellsKittyTV/timeline
Youtube: http://www.youtube.com/user/HellsKittytv

It stars Angel (the cat), Nicholas Tana, Lisa Younger, Adam Rucho with guest stars: Adrienne Barbeau (The Fog); Doug Jones (Hell Boy); Michael Berryman (The Hills Have Eyes); Ashley C. Williams (The Human Centipede); Barbara Nedeljakova (Hostel); Nina Hartley (Boogie Nights); Lee Meriwether (Batman); Billy Oberst Jr. (Abraham Lincoln vs. Zombies).

It was so much fun shoot and the cast and crew were very nice. I’ve been a fan of the show since it started airing. Being onset was amazing, it was like a “Scream Queen” re-union.

I met some other Scream Queens that I’ve been talking to for years and it was really cool being able to put a face to the name. Can’t wait to work with some of these ladies again.
 
2) Do you like to travel on projects or is just a necessary evil ?


Actually, I love to travel and have a passport ready and waiting for a project. I loved being an Army brat and we moved about every three years. The only bad thing was that I had to relearn to love flying. When my sisters and I were waiting for my dad to come back from Desert Storm, the planes and landing times got mixed up. So, there was my poor mom with four little girls sobbing because daddy didn’t get off the plane. We thought he wasn’t coming home, it was quite traumatizing and it took a while to not be upset about flying.

So, now I do like to travel, to do out of state projects. You see so many new things and meet new people. Just got back from shooting, “Lamb Feed”, in Fresno, a farming community and “Hells Kitty” in LA., in a graveyard no less.
3) One Sentence Descriptions –
 Joe Hollow-   A very talented director, he’s like a modern day painter. He can see the big picture and then he goes into the tiny details, to make sure his canvas is perfect.
Michael S. Rodriguez- If there is a term I can use, I would call him a method director. He is in the scene with you, making sure your raw emotion is showing and will help you get there, to get your character to be it’s best. 
Ted V Mikels- Sadly, I didn’t get to work with him directly. However, he is an amazing man and proves you can still film no matter what negative experiences that you have. You just have to have the right team that you can trust, no matter where you are, you can still shoot. 
Jonathan A Moody-  A hard worker, who  will do whatever he can to get his films done, he doesn’t give up. I can’t wait to work with him.
Matt Chassin –  He is the most amazing man I have ever met and I am so grateful to the people that recommended me to him. If he had not become my manager, A Blood Story and Lamb Feed might had become my last films. Matt has restored my faith in acting and the film world.
4) So,Why change your look so drastically ?


Well, there were a couple of reasons actually. I think the most dramatic is that two days before I shot A Blood Story, I had my braces removed and it changed the shape of my jaw line. They were on for almost three years and it sure wasn’t for cosmetic reasons. I also had premature gray, lots of it, which runs on the Norwegian side of my family and felt that going back to blonde was a good choice. I box and I train at a gym every day, which with being careful what I eat, get my sleep and not drinking, has really helped shape my body and mind. Which, in the long run, helps my acting.

5) Your flick,LAMB FEED, Has quite a ‘Buzz’ to it,Is that good ?
Oh yes, it is that good. I am really happy and very lucky to be a part of this film. It’s now in post and has already gotten into a film festival in Florida. We have a great group of actors and crew. You also get to see me in a very nice, short nightgown and robe.
6) Ever gonna Write or Direct a movie ?
Right now I am doing what I love to do, acting and being in front of the camera. Though, I do watch the cast and the crew on whatever project I am on, to learn as much as I can about all aspects of a set. The more I learn, the happier I am. Will I direct someday, I don’t know, but I do have a lot of stories running around in my head.
7) BEST of ‘The Mel’ On/Off set ?

The BEST on set? any time I am in front of the camera, interacting with people. Off set? that would be when I am relaxing, watching a movie with my cats.

8) WORST of ‘The Mel’ On/Off set ?

The Worst on set?  well, that is in the past and I have learned from my mistake.  Off set? when I got called,”an up and coming nothing.” by another actor. It was very upsetting at the time.

9) Pressure to change your name,Ever ?

Nope, never. If you look on IMDB, there aren’t a lot of Melanie’s and Robel isn’t a real common name. I think Melanie Robel  has a nice sound to it.

10) Tell us,Your fans,Why we should try as hard as you ?
If it is your passion, why wouldn’t you try as hard as you can? I take acting classes, I read scripts and plays, I do research for my parts, I talk with others who know the acting world and read memoirs of classic actors. You have to work hard for whatever you want in life,  acting, dancing, music. It doesn’t matter, it all takes work. I was a classically trained Bassoonist, in middle school, with college scholarships waiting for me. I was also being trained, to be a soloist with a known Ballet company. Both of those opportunities were “taken” away from me, because of accidents beyond my control. So I know what it takes and how to work hard. If you want “it”, you work for “it”.mel3mel2
Leave a Reply

