Robert A. Mukes – The ‘Big Man of Indy Horror’ scares #BakersfieldCollectorCon NEXT !

mukes
Photo (c) Jason Willheim
You like being tall?
              I love it Chris!!!
I think it’s the biggest advantage in life.  You command attention when you’re tall and it is an advantage in sports, most sports that is.
2) Ever wanna write or direct?
  Not really Chris…
Acting is complex enough so I’m just going to focus on that and try to make a living at it…
3) BEST of ‘The Muke’ On/Off the set?
      I want to think off the set Chris. I’ve had fancy cars and fancy clothes throughout my life and some people say that I’m attractive…
But I get the most compliments for my daughters…
And they are the main focus of my life.
4) WORST of ‘The Muke’ On/Off the set?
       In my late teens and early 20s I used to get in trouble with the law a little bit…
Didn’t have much guidance as a youth…
But that was like a lifetime ago…
5) One Sentence Descriptions – Rob Zombie, Michael S. Rodriguez, Kurt Russell, Mary-Louise Parker and Sid Haig.
Rob Zombie – very laid-back and cool &
makes directing look easy…
Michael Rodriguez – evolving into a close friend, very laid-back and cool under hectic shooting conditions….
Mary Louise Parker – seems very focused and to herself
Kurt Russell – very cool guy… Very very friendly and easy to approach…
Sid Haig  – We never worked the same days on ‘House of 1000 Corpses’…
I only got to know him when we started seeing each other at the horror conventions…
Very very friendly guy, super intelligent, full of wisdom and willing to share…
6) WWE Wrestling, Wanna discuss?
           WWE wrestling – I got injured twice within the first six months so I backed off of it…
Very very difficult sport.
7) TV commercials, how are they different than film?
   The difference between commercials and movies is that on commercials generally you shoot many many takes, sometimes up to 20 takes for the same scene and camera angle while on movies you shoot three or four takes and you move on…
8) Ever gonna play the good guy?
           My character is generally the same…Big Mean /Bad Ass Dude…
Which leads to the next question, would you ever like to play the good guy? I’ve shot about 60 roles over my last 20 years of acting…
Only twice or so been a good guy…
I would love to play the friendly good guy but I think I look mean in the face and my body is so mean and threatening looking…
9) Why were you nicknamed BONECRUSHER?  I had an audition one time and this older guy introduced himself as bone-crusher. I thought it was very cool…
So I started using that as a nickname…
10) Any final comments about the film LAMB FEED?
       ‘Lamb Feed’ was a very cool short to work on.  I met a couple of cool people out of it and it seems as if we’re becoming friends…
Definitely would love to work with those guys again…
Thank you Chris for the interview. I hope that I answered all your questions…
mukes2
(edited by Suzanne)
(reprinted from 2014)
Leave a Reply

