TRICIA MINTY – In Space,Everyone can hear her music !

tricia3

1) Hey, So this JOHN NEPTUNE scoring,That is different than your training ?

I went to school at California State University of Fresno and double majored in two areas: Music Composition and Communicative Disorders and Deaf Studies-Speech Language Pathology. I received my Bachelors of Arts degree in 2011 in both of these areas of study. It was a lot of hard work, but I was able to complete my degree in 5 years. At CSU Fresno, I studied composition under Dr. Kenneth Froelich. He taught me everything from music theory and orchestration. Initially, I was primarily interested in writing music for the concert setting until I took a CSU Summer Arts course in writing digital music for the media. Absolutely loved it! From that point on, I was hooked to writing music for visual media. I loved the interplay and the powerful immersion effect that the two create together for the audience. Neither visual nor music are nearly as powerful without one or the other. It’s true collaboration!

 

I’ve been fortunate to have had the opportunity to study under many well-known and respected professionals in the media music industry for film and games including Elizabeth Sellers, Ed Kalnins, Garry Schyman, Jim Dooley, Jeff Atmajian, and others.

 

Beyond Music Composition, I also earned my Masters of Arts Degree in Speech-Language Pathology at CSU Fresno. My thesis was on a music/speech-language therapy treatment method that I designed called the “Speech and Language Music Therapy” treatment method (SLMT). The study focused on young children (between the ages of 4-8 years) with expressive language disorders. The results of the study revealed that the treatment method was effective for treating expressive language disorders in the selected participants. More research of course needs to be conducted. Today, I work full time as a speech-language pathologist in the elementary and middle school setting. I work with kids from mild articulation disorders to moderate-severe developmental disabilities (i.e., Autism and Down Syndrome).

2)What does music mean to you and how are hobbies affected by it?

 

In a few words, I’m a passionate workaholic. Music is my life and passion. It’s what I think about when I wake-up every morning. It’s one of my biggest motivators. I want to share this passion and drive with other people as well, which is why I love collaborating with motivated and talented filmmakers like Ian Pugh. I’ve had a blast scoring music for the web-series “The Galactic Adventures of John Neptune.” It’s amazing when you’re working on an incredibly creative project with a professional team. You get to share your passion and work with other talented individuals and they get to share theirs with you. Together, you support each other and create something amazing to share with the world. It’s truly incredible!

 

I put my heart into every project and piece of music that I’m working on. It’s important to me that I’m writing the best music that I can. I’m always pushing myself to try and learn new things in music. One of my favorite quotes is “”The day you stop learning is the day that you become obsolete,” unknown.

3) BEST of ‘The Minty ‘doing Soundtracks/Not Doing Soundtracks ?

I get to do something that I love and am very passionate about. I’m also very blessed to have many opportunities to collaborate with professional filmmakers/ directors and work on innovative/creative projects. Not everyone gets these opportunities. I’m very thankful.

4)WORST of ‘The Minty’ Doing Soundtracks/Not Doing Soundtracks ?

Haha. Well, I truly love what I do. Not that it’s never hard work or I never have bad days. Technical problems are always a headache. Right now, since I’ve been so swamped with projects (which I’m very thankful for) I’ve gotten very behind on my Netflix series and reading. I really don’t mind though not having a lot of free time. Music and my film/media projects are my life and I feel very blessed for that.

5) IF you were a DJ,You could be nicknamed ‘MINTY FRESH’ ?

Lol. I suppose…sure why not?

6)Few Sentences Descriptions –

 

Ian Pugh: A very talented filmmaker! We have a special collaborative and professional relationship which I cherish. We are pretty comfortable with giving each other feedback and support. We have great rapport/communication and I love collaborating with him.

 

Rach Hibler: One of the best directors/managers that I know. She’s also a very talented script writer. “The Galactic Adventures of John Neptune” wouldn’t be nearly as successful without her.

 

Jason Hild: A very talented and professional actor and voice actor. He’s a very hard worker. He’s also done a terrific job on being a real ‘sleaze ball’ as Mizar in “The Galactic Adventures of John Neptune.”

 

Jeff Murray: Had a blast collaborating with him and Kevin Searcy on “Big Foot’s Wild Weekend.” Has a great sense of humor and very professional. I would love to collaborate with him again in the future.

 

Justin McAleece: Have had a blast collaborating with him on “Brick Madness.” Blare Media is a true professional film and media studio. It’s been a wonderful experience to work with an exceptionally talented team of professionals.

7)Ever wanna be on screen, Instead of the studio scoring ?

My interests have always been in music, sound design, and audio. I enjoy collaborating with actors, especially voice actors, but never have considered myself to be one.

8)Advocate for ‘ Save The Music’ ?

I am a big supporter of music education. We need music education in schools. It’s a shame that it’s not considered to be a core subject like math, history, or science. Music is an integral aspect of humanity and culture. Music is literally everywhere on T.V., radio, commercials, web-sites, parties, ceremonies, weddings, funerals, and etc. American culture thrives on music. It’s unfortunate though that America has become more of a culture of consumers of music versus producers of music. Whenever it comes up, I always encourage people to play music for their own enjoyment. Just because you play an instrument, does not mean you have to become a professional. Music can have a very powerful positive affect on your life. There’s also a lot of exciting research currently happening in this area. In summary, there is strong evidence that suggests that music improves cognitive functions including memory and critical thinking. If you’d like to learn more about this research, please follow this website: http://www.northwestern.edu/newscenter/stories/2012/08/kraus-childhood-music-training.html

 

In a few words, yes music can make you “smarter” in addition to also bringing joy and personal accomplishment to your life. It is best to start from a young age (it’s no different than learning a language), but there is no reason for anyone at any age to pick up an instrument and start playing. If nothing else, learning music gives you a better appreciation of what professionals do. It also helps you understand the technical aspects of the music that you listen to on your

i-pod/mp3 players, CD’s, car radio, and/or in movies/shows. Look forward to the day when all children in schools will learn an instrument and learn basic music theory.

9) Because of JOHN NEPTUNE series, We asked for your help with TRIBAL BLACK OPS. This will be a Native-American sci-fi series soundtrack. You scared about ?

 

No, not at all. Look forward to start writing music for the series when it reaches the post-production stage. I imaging that the score will include a lot of tribal percussion and Native-American wind instruments.

10) What is that final note to leave the fans of ‘The Minty’ with ?

No matter what your passion or interests are, if you work hard and put your heart into it great opportunities will occur.  Typically, the thing that you least expect will always occur (for good or bad). Life will always surprise you. I’ve found though that success has more to do with perseverance than talent.

Here is a link to my Sound Cloud account:

https://soundcloud.com/tricia-minty

tricia1

http://neptunecinema.com/

Leave a Reply

