DAN JOHNSON hates DC COMICS & SYFY CHANNEL

Comic Books:

BLOOD DRIVE – Starting Line

Dennis the Menace– I am one of a dozen freelance gag writers for the daily comic strip.

Robinson Crusoe– I wrote a comic book adaptation of the classic Daniel Defoe novel for Campfire Comics.

 

Oliver Twist– I wrote a comic book adaptation of the classic Charles Dickens novel for Campfire Comics.

 

The Jungle Book– I wrote a comic book adaptation of the classic Rudyard Kipling anthology for Campfire Comics.

Sinbad: The Legacy– I wrote an original graphic novel based on the Sinbad legends for Campfire.

Films:

Boot Hill Blind Dead – Horror/Western short combines the mythos of Blind Dead films and EC type of stories.

BLOOD DRIVE short film (ed.2017) – They are NOT just Racing for Pinks,This time !

1)   Are you happy with your writing till now?

A: Yes! Very much! I’m happy with the opportunities that have been opened up to me. Actually, I’m thrilled about them. I have been very blessed to have so much work published and to get the chance to tell the stories I want to tell.

2) INDIA publishing company, How is that working for you?

A: Very well! Campfire Graphic Novels is a great company to work for. They are very supportive of the ideas I have proposed and all the editors and creative people I have met through the company have been great to me. Last year, I did a one day show for a friend of mine, John Tompkins, called Mini-Con. It was held at a library in Indian Trails, NC. John contacted Campfire, explained that this was going to be a free event that was intended to get kids interested in comics so they can develop a love for reading, as well as letting them talk face to face with some writers and artists to find out how comics are made. John asked the company if they would be willing to send some books to give away and in the end they sent a whole box of graphic novels! I’m not sure how many it was exactly, but it included twenty five copies of Robinson Crusoe for me to sign and give away at my table. That is just one example of how generous they have been to me and the community.

3) Campfire product looks almost like Disney and yet seems more entertaining?

A: Well, the books are intended to be safe for kids to read, just like Disney. And like a lot of great Disney films, television shows and comics of the past, there is a lot there that adults will enjoy as well. The key thing is that there is nothing gratuitous in either of the companies’ products. Both deal in good, clean fun for all ages. Also, both deal in excellent storytelling.

4) Dennis The Menace, This is a great opportunity for your skills, Seen the TV series and movies ?

A:  I’m finally getting the chance to watch the original series on Netflix streaming. Where I grew up, that was one of the few shows that was never in syndication.  As for the films, I have seen them all and I like the 1993 version the best. I got to back that one because Nick Castle, the man who gave us The Last Starfighter, also directed this movie. Also, Lea Thompson: Best. Alice. Mitchell. Ever!

5) Describe in one sentence –

A: Dr. Gangrene is a brother from another mother!

Hank Ketcham is one of the men who inspired me to get into comics!

My Late Mom is still the person I want to make most proud of me.

6) Think Campfire Graphic Novels will ever be adapted for movies and /or TV ?

A: Many of the classic novels we have adapted have been made into films already, but I think our original books are deserving of film treatment as well.

7) How would you describe ‘BOOT HILL BLIND DEAD’ film?

How was that experience and the fact it still is talked about on internet?

A: Boot Hill Blind Dead is a twisted little terror tale! I am proud that people still are talking about it almost ten years after it was made and I think that is a testimony to how well done it was and how much fun it is. I think everyone was outstanding in the film, especially Ron Ford. The thing I remember most about the making of it was that you guys were all out in California and I was here in North Carolina! I remember getting the emails from you after the shoot was wrapped and you giving me the updates on it. I still think the biggest thrill for me about that was approaching Ghoultown about using some of their music in the film and them agreeing. As I wrote the screenplay, their song, “Hang Me High,” kept running through my head and I kept thinking, “This song would be perfect for the opening or closing titles!” And sure enough, we got the rights to use it!

8) Your next screenplay: ‘BLOOD DRIVE the feature film'(ed.2017)

Wanna attempt to enlighten us?

A: Well, I think it is going to be one terrific roller coaster of a ride. There will be lots of cars, action, excitement and more twists and turns in the plot than there are on the highway. Plus, I’m excited to get back to doing work on a film script. I’ve been so busy with comics and magazine articles, I forgot how much writing screenplays can be. And hey, any chance to work with you, Chris, is not to be missed!

9) Ever think you should be in Hollywood or New York?

A: One day I’d like to visit. But at heart, I’m a North Carolina boy. I recently ended up moving to a small town and I’m loving it here. It is quiet and laidback and I love sitting with my laptop with the window opening and just enjoying the peace. Right now, I think I’m in the best spot for me.

10) Last chance to defend the writers of the world?

A: No need to defend my brother and sister scribes. We are all awesome in our own way! We get to create and tell tales. We enlighten. We entertain. We make people dream. I would give a shout out to my fellow writers and tell them to keep doing what they are doing. Keep making that magic that is one of a kind and all your own! (reprinted from GUESTAR Blog,2012)

BLOOD DRIVE FB

http://www.facebook.com/BloodDriver

EMPIRE COMICS LAB

https://www.facebook.com/EmpireComicsLab/?pnref=lhc

http://empirecomicslab.com/

Leave a Reply

