JIM WYNORSKI – murderbot/killbots

Jim Wynorski MURDERBOT / KILLBOTS

jimw

1) Are you happy with ‘Your Place’ in cinema history ?

With a few notable exceptions, no one really knows their place in cinema history. Notable icons like Marilyn Monroe and Elvis Presley aside, average kids today have no clue about people like Robert Mitchum, Spenser Tracy and even Roy Rogers or Gene Autry who were superstars fifty years ago. I just hope my films continue to bring enjoyment to the audience. If maybe fifty odd years from now, someone living on a Martian outpost gets beamed a showing of CHOPPING MALL and enjoys it, my spirit will be very happy.
2)”Popatopolis”,Wanna explain or comment on this documentary of your work?
A director spent five years making this documentary about me. It was very flattering during the production period, but I was a bit worried how it might turn out. In the end, I found it very funny – even if it does take an occasional stab at me. It’s currently playing the specialty circuit, having just screened at RainDance in London to a packed crowd.
You have 4 movies out this year ? What happens in your free time,LOL ?
So far this year, I’ve done three erotics(THE HILLS HAVE THIGHS, BUSTY COPS GO HAWAIIAN and BUSTY COPS AND THE JEWEL OF DENIAL) plus a movie for SyFy starring David Carradine, DINOCROC VS. SUPERGATOR. Also did a kid’s movie in the midwest called MONSTER CRUISE. Upcoming in December is another monster flick called CAMEL SPIDERS. I know it sounds like a lot, but frankly I’d rather be working. Especially in today’s economy.
4)Given your reputation in film, what’s been your longest relationship?
That sounds more like a bitch slap than a back slap kind of question. Yes, I have a reputation for being quick tempered, but only with incompetant people. Most of the time, I’m a sweetheart, by my own admission. LOL. I would have to say my longest relationship in Hollywood would be with Roger Corman, whom I still work for now and then. Others include Fred Olen Ray, Paul Hertzberg(from Cinetel Films), and many fine actors and production people too numerous to mention.
Regrets?
A big one, I’m afraid. When I first came out to Los Angeles in early 1977 to work on the publicity campaign for STAR WARS, 20th Fox was worried they were holding onto the biggest turkey of their existence. I remember one of the license guys asking me if I wanted to buy the T-shirt or model rights for just $12,000. Not being ultra rich at the time, I had to decline. Had I known, I would have sold my car and lived on peanut butter and jelly till the film opened up in May.
5) ONE sentence descriptions
Roger Corman – The maestro of exploitation, my mentor and friend for 30 years; taught me everything worth knowing about film making.
Fred Olen Ray – A very warm-hearted guy and good friend since 1983. If you throw in Dave Decouteu, I think we’ll be remembered as the guys who kept the exploitation torch burning.
Gigi Erneta – A hot chick with a brain. Beware. A hot chick with a brain. Beware….
Michael Madsen – Done two films with Michael…both were pleasant and uneventful. I know he’s got the rep for things wild, but I never saw evidence of anything but professionalism.
Melissa Brasselle – My girl. Beautiful, sexy, brilliant, funny, talented. One stop shopping. Catch her on VH1′s TUFF LOVE in November.
6)BEST of JW On/Off set ?
During the making of VIPER, I rescued a stray puppy.
7) WORST of JW On/Off set ?
During the making of VIPER, I ordered the puppy to bite the producer. It did.
8) Most successful film and or Proudest achievement on film?
I would have to say that most of my films have been financial successes, thank heavens. My most notable achievment would have to be the film not many people have seen, TRANSYLVANIA TWIST. It comes closest to my personality and was the film I had the most fun making. It was the show I never wanted to end.
9) Your ‘Swamp Thing” passed away recently. Does this feel weird ?
No, Dick Durock was a helluva guy, and I’m sorry for any suffering he may have endured – but in the end, we’re all gonna go. I take it day by day, rarely thinking that tomorrow could be it. If we thought about death all the time, this world would be rather depressing, wouldn’t it.
10) (Jim has refused to answer this question,Its contents could be the T & A “Rosebud” for the Blu-Ray generation, LOL !-Editor)
(Editor: This interview is from 2010).